Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal

Types of Victims

The amount and nature of financial assistance that may be awarded to a victim of crime is limited by the Victims of Crime Assistance Act 1996, and differs between primary, secondary and related victims. The amount of financial assistance awarded to a victim of crime to assist in their recovery must be reasonable, and the expenses claimed must directly arise from the crime.

Primary Victims

Secondary Victims

Related Victims

Funeral Expenses Only

© Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal, State Government of Victoria

Source URL:
Last Reviewed 26 Sep 2016